Rachel Schallhorn, DDS, MS is a diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology and is currently in private practice in Aurora, Colorado. She has been in practice since 2009 and is experienced and proficient in diagnosis and treatment of periodontal disease, regenerative procedures, dental implant placement and a range of cosmetic and corrective periodontal procedures. In addition to private practice, Dr. Schallhorn is also actively involved in clinical, practice-based research and is an active member of several local and national dental organizations. She has served on the board for the Rocky Mountain Society of Periodontists and was the president of the society during the 2013 year. She also serves on the Practice Management and Marketing committee for the American Academy of Periodontology. Dr. Schallhorn has published articles in the Journal of Periodontology and the Academy of General Dentistry’s Journal General Dentistry.

Dr. Schallhorn received a Bachelor of Arts degree from  Capital University in Columbus, Ohio graduating Suma Cum Laude with a major in biology and a minor in chemistry.  Upon completion of her undergraduate education, Dr. Schallhorn attended the University of Michigan School of Dentistry. While at the University of Michigan, Dr. Schallhorn was the recipient of an academic scholarship as well as the Michigan Periodontal Alumni Award. She also received a national award from the American Academy of Periodontology for her scholastic achievements upon graduation from dental school and was inducted into the Omicron Kappa Upsilon Society, a national academic honorary organization for dentists. Dr. Schallhorn completed her post-graduate periodontics residency at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in San Antonio, Texas. In combination with comprehensive training in the specialty of periodontics, Dr. Schallhorn also earned a Masters of Biomedical Science.  Following completion of her residency, Dr. Schallhorn was selected as one of three finalists in the country for the 2009 Kramer Scholar Award for Excellence. In addition, she was a finalist in the 2009 Balint Orban Prize for clinical research and the 2009 Prichard Prize for excellence in research.